Ahmad Jamal – The Legendary OKEH & Epic Recordings (2005)

Ahmad Jamal - The Legendary OKEH & Epic RecordingsListening to Ahmad Jamal is like eating. It’s something that’s needed for survival. Ahmad crafts sophisticated beats and tones into seemingly simple melodies. The tracks are so seamless that, even though this album is a compilation, the tracks seem naturally juxtaposed. “Pavanne” is the best track and also the most unorthodox. There’s so much blend and variety in the song that it’s hard to describe the numerous beat, style and tempo changes. Ahmad isn’t a straight-forward musician, he zig-zags and flips multiples of four before he’s done.

The Trio of Jamal (piano), Ray Crawford (guitar) and Eddie Calhoun (bass) composed the first six tracks. The rest are played with Israel Crosby on bass instead of Calhoun. Miles Davis was Jamal’s biggest fan. Davis once said, “all of my inspiration comes from Ahmad Jamal. I live until he makes another record.” A song like “Don’t Blame Me” is a perfect example of Davis’ praise of Jamal’s use of space: “He lets it go so that you can feel the rhythm section and the rhythm section can feel you.” The pauses are very deliberate; the song constantly tries to bring you in. That’s ultimately what Jamal wants to do with his music: bring you in.

Ahmad Jamal

[photo via jorge_pimenta]

Ahmad Jamal

[photo via Kalamu]

Track list:

    1. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
    2. Will You Still Be Mine
    3. Ahmad’s Blues
    4. A Gal In Calico
    5. Aki And Ukthay
    6. Billy Boy
    7. Black Beauty
    8. Love For Sale
    9. Something To Remember You By
    10. Poinciana
    11. Don’t Blame Me
    12. Autumn Leaves
    13. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
    14. Old Devil Moon
    15. It’s Easy To Remember
    16. Squeeze Me
    17. Crazy He Calls Me
    18. Pavanne
    19. Perfidia
    20. Rica Pulpa
    21. The Donkey Serenade

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.