The Apples In Stereo – Travellers In Space And Time (2010)

The Apples In Stereo - Travellers In Space And TimeI think that some sort of praise should be given to a band that has existed long enough to reach the hallowed number seven for full-length album releases, especially when that band still includes many of its original founding members.

It’s amazing that The Apples In Stereo has been making music for almost two decades. Led by Robert Schneider, the six-piece ensemble is still crafting pseudo-psychedelic tunes for another generation of indie fans.

On Travellers In Space And Time, the band gets some heavy inspiration from Electric Light Orchestra for some of album’s beats and themes, notably on the addicting “Dreams About The Future” and the very groovy “Dance Floor.” Both songs sort of crept up my lower body, as I noticed my right foot tapping the floor furiously and my booty shaking itself numb.

It would be embarrassing to tell you how “Hey Elevator” treated me, so let’s just say my clothes had a tendency of removing themselves from my body. And no, I wasn’t alone, so I had welcomed friendly assistance. And during the more mellow “No One In The World,” the number of partygoers actually increased.

I should put a disclaimed on this review that reads: Result of orgy from listening to The Apples In Stereo is not typical. Sorry, guys.

Travellers In Space And Time is full of catchy hooks that makes you wonder why disco ever died. But then you reach the album’s tenth track “I Told You Once,” and you know why. At around that thirty-minute mark, the album starts to feel stretched and saturated, kind of like the feeling you get after having sweated all night in full go get’em attire.

Sure, the Beatles-esque “Floating In Space” is welcome relief that probably should have been the album’s conclusion, but we’re treated to three more tracks that seem out of place (yes, “Nobody But You” should be an earlier track) after so many dance songs. The Apples In Stereo has made an enjoyable album, but it feels somewhat excessive for 51 total minutes.

“Hey Elevator” Music Video


The Apples In Stereo

The Apples In Stereo

[photos via Sneak Attack Media | Adam Cantor]

Track list:

  1. The Code
  2. Dream About The Future
  3. Hey Elevator
  4. Strange Solar System
  5. Dance Floor
  6. C.P.U.
  7. No One In The World
  8. Dignified Dignitary
  9. No Vacation
  10. Told You Once
  11. It’s All Right
  12. Next Year About The Same Time
  13. Floating In Space
  14. Nobody But You
  15. Wings Away
  16. Time Pilot

Note: Article first published as “Music Review: The Apples In Stereo – Travellers In Space And Time” on Blogcritics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.